Shout Back Festival 2013 Posters! 

Shout Back Festival 2013 Posters! 

Hard Bitch playing at Shout Back Festival 2013 ! 

Hard Bitch playing at Shout Back Festival 2013 ! 

Shoutback Festival Schedule

An all-ages anarcha-feminist, queer, anti-capitalist DIY music festival for anyone who wants it or thinks they might want it. A celebration in smashing patriarchy, showcasing artists who are under-represented.

See accessibility info for all venues below.

This year we will be offering childcare upon request, so please let us know if this is something you will be needing. 

WORKSHOPS

Skill-sharing on a variety of subjects, such as:

❈ Anti-oppression and Decolonization

❈ Direct Unionism

❈ Fat Panic!

❈ Feminism and Hip Hop

❈ Fix Yr Bike

❈ Skateboarding

❈ Re-Wilding the Shitty: A Response to the Concrete Jungle

with more TBA!!

\\ ART SHOW @ Art Bank ///

Friday 6-8pm

Saturday 1 - 5pm

3pm: Film Screening: !Women Art Revolution

▼Music Schedule▼

THURSDAY AUG 22

»»» Kick off party at Astorino’s!

https://www.facebook.com/events/218627464956123/

5:00 Doors open! Pick up your passes and schedules! 

5:30 Welcoming and Territorial Acknowledgement

6:00 Anti-Oppression and Decolonization Workshop

8:00 Cascadia http://cascadia.bandcamp.com/

8:30 Whip

9:00 Imaginary Pants http://imaginarypants.bandcamp.com/

9:30 Dad Thighs 

10:00 Stefana Fratila https://soundcloud.com/stefanafratila

FRIDAY AUG 23

»»» 877 East Hastings

8:30 Chelsea Johnson

9:00 Sajia Sultana http://sajiasultana.bandcamp.com/

9:30 Waxing Hearts [Seattle] http://waxinghearts.bandcamp.com/

10:00 Rose Melberg http://rosemelberg.bandcamp.com/

10:30 Copy/Paste http://copy-paste.bandcamp.com/

11:00 Catty Kits https://soundcloud.com/cattykits

11:30 Nancy Leticia https://soundcloud.com/nancyleticia

12:00 Janette King

12:30 Hot Fruit [Olympia] http://hotfruit2012.bandcamp.com/album/thats-cute-thats-weird-thats-fucked-up

»»» Artbank

8:00 Hooves http://hoovesvancouver.bandcamp.com/

8:30 Scrambled Debutante http://scrambleddebutante.bandcamp.com/

9:00 Skunt

9:30 Lunchlady http://lunchlady.bandcamp.com/

10:00 Dead Soft http://deadsoft.bandcamp.com/

»»» Rainbow Connection

7:00-8:30 Direct Unionism Workshop

 https://www.facebook.com/events/616652788366517/

10:30 Ratis http://ratis.bandcamp.com/

11:00 Bümflap http://www.tumblr.com/tagged/bumflap

11:30 Body Betrayal [Seattle] http://bodybetrayal.bandcamp.com/

12:00 Menopause http://menopause.bandcamp.com/

12:30 Prank War [Olympia] http://prankwar.bandcamp.com/

SATURDAY AUG 24

»»» Astorino’s

1:00-3:00 Fix Yr Bike Workshop

https://www.facebook.com/events/189267114584075/

3:00-5:00 Skateboard Workshop

https://www.facebook.com/events/534697329919035/ 

12:00 Derek Wheeler http://derekwheeler.bandcamp.com/

12:30 She Dreams In Colour http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=drCUHjGE0sM

1:00 Kilikina http://kilikina.bandcamp.com/

1:30 Gender Dog http://genderdog.bandcamp.com/

2:00 Freaky Pup [Bellingham] http://freakypup.bandcamp.com/

2:30 Hot Tears [Olympia] http://hottears.bandcamp.com/

3:00 Dr. Nothing

3:30 Reverter http://reverter.bandcamp.com/

4:00 Shearing Pinx http://shearingpinx.bandcamp.com/

4:30 Daisy World [Oakland] https://soundcloud.com/daisy-world

5:00 Screaming Queens https://soundcloud.com/screamingqueens

5:30 Lori Goldston [Seattle] http://lorigoldston.bandcamp.com/

»»» ArtBank

1 - 5pm open house art viewing !!!

3pm: Film Screening: !Women Art Revolution

»»» Glam Haus

1:00 Dream Baby

1:30 True Crush http://truecrush.bandcamp.com/

2:00 Make Love http://makelove.bandcamp.com/

2:30 Huntley http://huntley.bandcamp.com/track/recommendation

3:00 Leila Neverland http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mVbXaNRBnwI

3:30 Autococoon [Seattle] http://autococoon.bandcamp.com/album/spirulina

4:00 Hans

4:30 Pansy

5:00 Achieve Happiness

5:30 Ashley Pitre http://ashleypitre.bandcamp.com/album/lets-build-our-home-here-for-now

»»» Gallery Gachet

7:00- 9:00 Fat Panic Workshop

https://www.facebook.com/events/283079915163983/

»»» Franklin Studios

8:00 Hard Bitch http://hardbitches.bandcamp.com/

8:30 Bitpart [Paris / Olympia] http://bitpart.bandcamp.com/

9:00 Noisy Tits 

9:30 Nation of Two [Seattle] http://nationoftwo.bandcamp.com/

10:00 Cellmate [Portland] http://cellmate.bandcamp.com/

10:30 Nun Un http://nunun.bandcamp.com/

11:00 DANCE. PARTY. 

»»» Astorino’s

8:00 Artistic Crisis [Bellingham] http://artisticcrisis.bandcamp.com/

9:00 Sontag http://sontag.bandcamp.com/track/27-acres

9:30 Diane http://xdianex.bandcamp.com/

10:00 Loose Tights http://loosetights.bandcamp.com/album/jam-space-recordings-for-demo

10:30 Poor Choices [Victoria] http://thepoorchoices.bandcamp.com

11:00 Therapy http://thetherapy.bandcamp.com/

11:30 Margy Pepper [Olympia] http://margypepper.bandcamp.com/

»»» Artbank

8:00 - 11:00 hiphop party featuring:

Claire Mortifee https://soundcloud.com/claire_mortifee

Asha Moyo http://ashamoyo.bandcamp.com/

Tonye Aganaba http://tonyeaganaba.com/

Murry 

Misty Seemore and British Columbia

Nik and Yushi

Marisa and Jason

Josh and Pat

Yushi, Megu and Monika

Ice Cream House dance

DJ ORLA

Freestyle Rap Alliance 

MAM GLAM

SUNDAY AUG 25

»»» Waffles ‘n’ Noise (Thor’s Palace)

https://www.facebook.com/events/498987166855321/

10:00 WAFFLES!

11:15 Hot Noisy Mess 

12:00 Regular Fantasy https://soundcloud.com/regfant

12:45 The Nausea http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YKX7QjCLXec

1:30 Spell http://www.notype.com/drones/cat.e/pan_072/

2:15 Nancy Drew Pentagrams [Olympia] 

https://soundcloud.com/nancy-drew-pentagrams

3:00 Lié http://lievancouver.bandcamp.com/

»»» Strathcona Skate Park

Garden Walk

Re-Wilding the Shitty: A Response to the Concrete Jungle

Gentrification

5:00 Love Cuts http://lovecuts.bandcamp.com/album/2-1

5:30 Village http://villagevillage.bandcamp.com/

6:00 Megabog [Seattle] http://wizardsoftheghost.bandcamp.com/album/some-ufo-ep

6:30 Ghost Ease [Portland] http://theghostease.bandcamp.com/

7:00 Bushtit http://bushtit.tumblr.com/

7:30 Thee AHs http://theeahs.bandcamp.com/

8:30 Movieland http://movieland.bandcamp.com/

***Bonus show organized by friends of Shout Back! featuring Miens & Sontag***  

https://www.facebook.com/events/635503899793582/

❈ Subject to change!

❈ Venue details coming soon!

❈ Super duper excited!

Accessibility info:

ASTORINOS

There is one gradient step up to the door of the venue. It is 2.5” at the lowest point and 6” at the highest, for which a ramp is available.  There are two washrooms stalls with grab bars, one in each washroom; the doors to these stalls are 30” and they are 42” wide.  Shows at this venue are sober shows—no BYOB, and no alcohol will be sold at the venue.

RAINBOW CONNECTION

There a non-automatic door at street level that leads to a tiny concrete ramp. This ramp leads to the large show room. There is a large washroom, measurements to come.

ART BANK

There are no stairs or steps in the entrance.  The (gender-neutral) washroom has a narrow entrance.  An accessible washroom is located in a pub less than half a block away and we talking to the owners to see if Art Bank attendees can make use of it at no charge during the festival.

GALLERY GACHET

front door: 5 feet width

front door step: 6 inch height

ramp: 31 inch width

washroom door: 33 inch width

toilet: 10 inch clearance on left side

14 inch clearance in front to sink

the washroom has a handrail

There is one gender-neutral washroom.

FRANKLIN STUDIOS

The entrance is street-level with no stairs or steps and is one meter wide.  The gender-neutral washroom located past a narrow hallway with a sharp 90 degree turn.  We are currently attempting to source an alternate washroom option.

KICKSTAND

Kickstand has a 32” gate with three steps leading down into a large basement space, with one gender neutral washroom.

GLAM HAUS

This show here is taking place outdoors in a grassy backyard which can be approached from a paved alley way.  The gender-neutral washroom inside the house must be reached through two flights of stairs.  We are currently sourcing a nearby accessible washroom option.

877 E HASTINGS

There is an elevator leading up to the space and a hallway which leads to a gender neutral washroom with a narrow entrance.  More info to come.

THOR’S PALACE

This is a house venue with approximately 20 steps leading up into the house.  There is a gender-neutral washroom located up another flight of stairs.

STRATHCONA SKATE PARK

This show takes place in a park outside which may be approached from a concrete gradient pathway approximately five feet wide.  There are ‘male’ and ‘female’ labled washrooms on site with a 1/2 foot step for the entrance and small cubicles.  Regrettably Shout Back coordinators were not successful in securing a wheelchair accessible Porto-Potty for this event.  We are currently sourcing another washroom option for this event, but something close by may not be available.  We apologize for this exclusion.

FOR ALL VENUES:

All shows are all ages!

We are working on a safer spaces team to be present at as many shows as possible.  This team will have identifying arm bands, will be sober, and will be accountable as active listeners and defusing unsafe situations.

We request a $5 donation or the presentation of a $20 festival pass at each music show and workshop.  However no one will be turned away for lack of funds at either shows or workshops.

All shows at Astorino’s are sober shows, however other show venues may have alchohol for sale at them.

All venues are close to public transportation.  Please message us for directions to specific venues.

Free childcare is available upon request for any of the shows and workshops.

Please refrain from wearing strong scents.

We are trying our best to increase the accessibility of this festival and we are open to suggestions and constructive feedback!

Check out these cool resources on accessibility:

http://www.brownstargirl.org/1/post/2012/03/fragrance-free-femme-of-colour-realness-draft-15.html

http://leavingevidence.wordpress.com/2011/02/12/changing-the-framework-disability-justice/

If you have any questions, please e-mail shoutbackfest@gmail.com 

SHOUT BACK FEST WEEKEND PASS!Get ‘em while they’re hot!

SHOUT BACK FEST WEEKEND PASS!
Get ‘em while they’re hot!

Donate to our IndieGoGo campaign!

Want to secure a pass? Call dibs on a sweet t-shirt? Or just plain donate? Check out our Indiegogo campaign here!

We’ve got tons of fun prizes and all money goes directly to securing venues, paying bands and providing food!


xoxox

TONIGHT!

TONIGHT!

True Crush performing at Thor’s Palace. Photo by Ragechill!

Phew! That was fun. Warm hugs and love to all those who came out! If you are feeling hungry for more feminist muzak check out this awesome episode of The F Word where they recap the festival and play songs by many of the bands who played the fest! 
The F Word is a local feminist radio show that air on Vancouver’s co-op radio CFRO 100.5FM every Monday from 12-1pm. The F Word is also distributed as a podcast on Rabble.ca. 
xo!

True Crush performing at Thor’s Palace. Photo by Ragechill!

Phew! That was fun. Warm hugs and love to all those who came out! If you are feeling hungry for more feminist muzak check out this awesome episode of The F Word where they recap the festival and play songs by many of the bands who played the fest!

The F Word is a local feminist radio show that air on Vancouver’s co-op radio CFRO 100.5FM every Monday from 12-1pm. The F Word is also distributed as a podcast on Rabble.ca.

xo!